Arizona MCLE Credit Requirements
15hrs / Year
3hrs of Ethics
Due date is June 30
As an Attorney in Arizona, you are required to complete 15 hours of MCLE credits every year. This yearly cycle runs from July 1 to June 30 of the following year. You probably already know, but at least 3 hours
of the 15 must be professional responsibility
credits. This includes topics such as legal ethics and malpractice prevention. To find professional responsibility courses, just click the “Ethics” topic on our Talks
page for plenty of options.
The State Bar of Arizona does not approve or accredit CLE activities for the Mandatory Continuing Legal Education requirement. Arizona attorneys must report their own attendance to the State Bar of Arizona.
Penalties and Late Fees
Late Lawyers Have to Pay!
As of 2015, there are late fees for lawyers who earn their credits or submit their filings late. Click here for all the details straight from the Arizona Bar.
Fees (effective January 1, 2015)
Delinquent Compliance Fees:
|Hours acquired after June 30
||Owe fee of
|July 1 to July 31
|August 1 to August 31
|September 1 to September 15
|September 16 and later
Delinquent Filing Fees:
|Affidavits filed late
||Owe fee of
|September 16 to October 15
|October 16 to November 15
|November 16 and later
Worst Case Scenario - Suspension
Failure to file your affidavit by December 15 may result a suspension on your ability to practice law. So, avoid extra late fees and a risk to your lawyer-hood and file before September 15 each year.
The Nitty Gritty
Fun Arizona CLE fact. There is also a special rule in Arizona for lawyers who are particularly, um, experienced. Basically, if you attained the age of 70 before January 1, 2009, and therefore hold a special member status with the bar, you get to skip out on the requirement entirely! Check Rule 45(b)3, if you doubt us!
For the Newly Admitted Attorneys.
For the rookie lawyers out there, there’s an extra hurdle or two. For one, you are likely required to attend the Arizona State Bar’s live professionalism course. For more info, click here
. Also for the final word on Arizona CLE requirements for newly admitted lawyers, check Rule 45(b)
which lays out MCLE exemptions.
A Little Bonus Homework for the Specialists.
Are you one of the “CERTIFIED” specialist attorneys in Arizona? If so, there’s another wrinkle. As a certified as a specialist, make sure to review Regulation 107
that applies to you. Basically, you must complete your 3 hours of professional responsibility credits like everyone else, but in addition the remaining 12 hours must focus on your area of specialty. Again, make sure to check the rules
. Current areas of specialization include:
Bankruptcy law, criminal law, estate and trust law, family law, personal injury and wrongful death, real estate law, tax law, and workers’ compensation law.